Nine scholarships to outstanding students of Chinese descent were awarded at the recent CCSS Spring Banquet. Recipients were selected by a committee headed by Dr. Jun Wang from more than three dozen applicants for their academic achievements, community service, extra-curricular activities and written recommendations.

The Ock Sam Huey Memorial Scholarship for a Delta student continuing to a four-year college went to Michelle Lee, a student who plans to study speech pathology at Eastern Washington University .

Alex Wong, the son of Kevin & Susan Wong, was awarded the Wong Shee Huey Memorial Scholarship. Alex is a graduate of Tokay High School .

The two CCSS/Ronald McDonald/ ASIA scholarships went to Jeffrey Yip of Bear Creek High School and Julie Tse from Stagg High School . Jeffrey, the son of Gary and Diane Yip plans to study architecture at Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo . Julie Tse, the daughter of Chung and Shu Tse, will be attending UC Berkeley as a pharmacy major.

Dr. Mary Ni Wang Memorial Scholarships were given to Benjamin Wong and Kayla Guissi. Benjamin, a graduate of Lodi High School , is the son of Gary and Susanne Wong. He is delaying enrolling in civil engineering at Cal Poly for a year's study on a fellowship in Germany . Kayla Guissi of Stagg High plans to study creative writing at California State University Long Beach. She is the daughter of Karniza Guissi.

The Dr. Henry and Sylvia Wong Scholarship was awarded to Tracy Lee of Stagg High School . The daughter of Gary and Diana Marr Lee, Tracy will begin her college career by studying biology at San Joaquin Delta College .

Lauren Chi is the recipient of the Chris and Florence Poon Scholarship. The Stagg senior is the daughter of Jason and Rachelle Chi and plans to major in biomedical engineering at UC Davis.

The Mary and Jimmy Lam Scholarship went to Jennifer Teng, a student at Lincoln High School and the daughter of Patrick and Yvonne Teng. Jennifer is attending Johns Hopkins University to study psychology and intends a career as a physician.

Congratulations to the nine scholarship winners. Kudos to the scholarship committee-Dr. Janwyn Funamura, Loreen Huey, Dr. Chen Liem, Clarence Louie, Miranda Wong and chair Dr. Jun Wang, for their excellent selections.